Monday, December 20, 2010

Outer Loop Productions - Christmas '96 Compilation

Here is the download: Outer Loop Productions Christmas 1996 Compilation

Here is the track listing:
1. Not Another Xmas - Hughes/Thompson/Swartz
2. Like White - Seely
3. Aurora - Broken Symmetry
4. Holiday Lament (Winter's Grim) - Tilde Course

5. Where's My Present? - Tilde Course
6. 5:00 AM Christmas Morning - Hughes/Swartz
7. Psychoactive Snow - James' Magic Dragon
8. Snowbound - Hughes/Swartz
9. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas - Doug Hughes
10. For Christmas I Want A Way Out - Pineal Ventana
11. Christmas At Grabowski's (Delarosa Mix) - Accustat
12. Traditional - Routerwhelm
13. I Saw Mama Licking Santa's Balls - Overdoor Head Traction Ensemble
14. Rubber Room - Peppermint Synapse
15: Holiday Bar Talk - Casper Fandango
16: Return of the Rat King - James' Magic Dragon
17: Snowflakes are Falling - Chris Swartz
18: Merryed with Christmas - Sequence 3

Welcome back to the Perimeter/Outer Loop Christmas Compilation posts! I posted a series of them around this time last year, but unfortunately Christmas came up pretty fast and I couldn't get all of them up. So here they are! This time we have the first of the Outer Loop Christmas tapes, which started in 1996 after Perimeter Records was officially retired. The usual team of Doug Hughes and Chris Swartz are behind the collection, with contributions by Atlanta greats Seely and Pineal Ventana as well as the more regular contributors to these tapes in the form of Peppermint Synapse, Sequence 3 and Routerwhelm.

Always interesting, always weird, these compilations really embody the experimental side of Atlanta during the 90's for me. I wonder in this current world of cheap recording and sharing of music we can't bring these kind of novelty experimental projects back. Maybe I'll talk Doug Hughes into doing one for 2011. This is great music for having a drink in front of the fire by your tree, or maybe lighting the tree on fire in your backyard after Christmas. You can download the entire discography here.

Here is the complete artwork (click to enlarge):

No comments:

Post a Comment